Gyangtse Monastery or Pelkor Choede monastery was founded in 1418 by Rabten Kunsang who was the head of Gyangtse Dzong, the historic region that corresponds generally to present-day counties. The castle was originally constructed by a grandson of King Langdarma whose name was Pelkortsen and later it was expanded by the father of Rabten Kunsang during the time of Pakmodru dynasty.
Rabten Kunsang was a Dharma practitioner and he sponsored the construction of both the monastery and the large Kubum stupa. Pelchoe monastery has a main assembly hall in the center and in the past there were 16 collages around it. The monastery is know for being non-sectarian, so eight collages belong to Gelugpa school, four to Sakyapa school, and the rest to the Butonpa tradition. There used to be about 1,500 monks in those collages. But today only one collage is restored. The statues of Buddhas and masters in this monastery have unique features with Newari influence.
The Kumbum stupa has a unique design, it has four doors on each side and many chapels on each floor. There supposed to be 100,000 images of Buddhas and Boddhisattvas. “ku” means holy image and “bum” means 100,000, so it is called the Gyantse Kubum. Generally speaking, Buddhists believe that the stupa can enrich the positive energy of elements and prevent natural disasters as it contains many relics in it. People also circumambulation it to purify sin so Buddhists promote the construction of stupas that represent the Buddha’s enlightened mind.